Photo: Scott Friedlander

Lisa Mezzacappa Trio

Audio player

Chris Welcome, electric guitar
Lisa Mezzacappa, acoustic bass
Mike Pride, drums

Over the past four years, the Lisa Mezzacappa Trio, with the superlative Brooklyn-based musician/composers Chris Welcome and Mike Pride, has grown into a bicoastal avant-jazz power trio, exploiting the musicians' diverse compositional aesthetics with a deep exploration of trio chemistry and interaction. The group nimbly navigates intricate composed material, conceptual improvisation, spacious jazz feeling and unfettered escapades in avant-noise. Welcome's gorgeous tone, thoughtful lines and lean original compositions belie his shredding heavy metal soul; Pride's surprising, dynamic, extraordinarily creative drumming is matched by his truly original compositional voice. Mezzacappa provides propulsive lines, arco espressionism and melodic counterpoint - with inventive original material that revels in the sound of a rhythm section having a really good time, all by itself.

Our debut recording, "X Marks the Question" was released in September 2013 and is available on CD and as a digital download on the Queen Bee Records Bandcamp site.

Track Listing:
1. 1989 (LM)
2. Space is Expanding (CW)
3. Ghost Dance (MP)
4. Jazz Brunch (CW)
5. Negakfok (MP)
6. Pottie Mouth (MP)
7. The Deep Disciplines (LM)
8. X Marks the Question (LM)
9. Judgement Night (CW)

Live at Legion Bar April 2014:

Here is a video of our first show ever, at Goodbye Blue Monday in 2009: